Sunday morning I had some precious “free time” to work on the kids camper/playhouse project. The air was crisp and cool, someone in the neighborhood was burning wood, and I had plenty of hot coffee on hand. The older two kids were at Sunday School, so I took little Ollie outside to play in the camper/playhouse while I worked on the outside. I put on some Miles Davis in the garage and turned it up loud enough to hear in the yard and set to work. These are the kinds of mornings I treasure. Quiet, peaceful, kids happily occupied, a little jazz, a little coffee, a nice warm sweater, and working on something I like to do.

The top half of the camper was done for some time, the top half is Dutch Boy’s Denver Omelet (yellow) and so the bottom was the task for the day. The bottom color is Dutch Boy’s Lush Greenery. To accomplish the pattern, I used a casserole lid and traced around the edge of it over and over again. The scalloped edge design helps hide the vent on the side, besides being just cute.

Yellow and Green - Lovely together

I also had time this weekend to spray paint a LOT of different projects I’m currently working on, and finished the fronts of all the shutters that will go on the camper/playhouse.

Shutters in "Tuscan Sunset" - Small ones for windows, tall ones for the front door.

Happiness - The trunk is a family heirloom I am refinishing. More on that in a future post.

….and got a layer of primer on the three sections of my antique folding screen….

First coat of primer on the antique folding screen

This morning I had to run to town and made a WONDERFUL discovery. For those who live in the Marshall area – they are discontinuing the line of Valspar spray paints at K-Mart, and have marked all Valspar spray paints on clearance for….

WOW

Can you BELIEVE that? From $4.99 to $1.00. So I bought 80 cans of paint. I figured if I didn’t, I’d kick myself every time I had to buy 8 cans of paint at $4.99 a can to work on projects. Good thing I’ve got lots of shelves in my basement.

Then, I went through the garden center to look for some ideas for landscaping around the bottom of the camper and found….

MUMS! I LOVE MUMS! (And yes, that'd be my trunk half full of mums and spray paint.)

MUMS – my favorite colors! I bought 12 of them. At $2.00 apiece, seeing as how they started out the season at $7.00, that’s a pretty good deal. AND the camper/playhouse will be even more adorable surrounded by MUMS! Now to find that picket-fence style garden trim that’s squirreled away in the garage somewhere.

I did, however, re-organize my work space in the garage a bit. Obviously I need to get some work done on all those projects I’ve been stocking up for 😀

YIKES> and I still have more at Grandpa's old store to bring home and work on.

Next on the agenda for the camper/playhouse project is the front door awning, and planting all those mums, finishing the shutters. Then we’ll be moving on to the inside. 😀 Watch for more posts!

