There’s one recipe that everyone in my family can agree to love. Even my tomato-hatin’ 8 year old has decided to set aside her disdain for the ol’ vegetable/fruit that is a tomato for this one particular dish. I have to admit, I do have kids that actually LOVE spinach, so perhaps children with a disdain for spinach may not be so fond of this dish.

I don’t really have a name for it… it’s just called “my really good chicken” around my house, but here goes…

Ingredients:

1 package crumbled feta cheese

8-10 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

2 tomatoes of good size

1 package frozen spinach (thawed) or 1/2 bag fresh spinach (finely chopped)

3 cloves garlic

ground black pepper to taste

2 c. breadcrumbs.

Begin by mixing together the diced tomatoes (whoops, did I forget to tell you to dice them…. yeah, dice them), spinach, and feta cheese. Crush the three garlic cloves and mix this in with the tomato/spinach/cheese mixture in a bowl. Add pepper to taste. Set aside.

Image

Put bread crumbs in a dish for dipping the chicken breasts into. Roll the chicken through the breadcrumbs (I do not use any egg wash or anything like that before-hand, the breadcrumbs stick pretty well to raw chicken). Fold each breast in half, and stuff the inside generously with the tomato/spinach/cheese/garlicy/peppery mixture. (I am a pro recipe-writer…I know.) Place inside a large rectangle casserole dish, bake at 400 for about an hour until the chicken is golden brown on top. Note – I add no liquids to the pan. The tomatoes have enough juice for the chicken to cook in so it retains moisture quite nicely. Another note: This is even better the second time around!

Image

