Some of you may heard, or may already know that I’m leaving the ol’ 9-5. I’ve been a news editor at the Tri-County News for the past four years, but have been in the newspaper/journalism business my entire adult life. It’s going to be a big change.

So what am I doing? Well I decided to go into business for myself. Kind of … I’m partnering with my cousin Brick on a new business venture. But before I tell you all about it, let me assure you, I’m still doing Vintage Inspired Designs. I’ll still be making my line for both Italy Ava and Aviena, which will be separate from my partnership with Brick.

OK so what are we doing? We are opening a store that’s actually pretty hard to describe! We’re going along the philosophy of upcycled, handmade and local, but with a heavy emphasis on “better living”. We’re carrying a couple of lines of handmade, upcycled wares, but will also have some “departments” in the store including a gourmet candies department featuring all kinds of sugary confections from around the world, a gluten free department (not right away, but coming soon) that will feature gluten free mixes taste tested by my own family and gluten-intollerant grandma and manufactured by small businesses with an emphasis on quality, and of course, we have a DIY department with supplies for all the DIY’ers out there looking to improve their own items. The DIY section has been a LOT of fun working on – including the paints – we have a line coming in of paints that rival the chalk paint brands you’ve heard of but with an excellent price tag! We’re also working on getting in natural personal care products, crafted with fine quality. So far we’ve got Nessa’s Naturals (one of my personal favorites) lined up, as well as WhoosSoap – a line of natural men’s shaving products.

So far things are moving quickly and smoothly! We got the keys just last week to our building (located at 318 N. 1st Street, Suite 1 in downtown Montevideo – right next to Christa Landmark Boutique), and so of course, the first thing we did was paint those white walls with some color!

Image

This is Brick…. the day we got the keys…

Painting…

Image

We’re working on bringing up the shelving units and displays this weekend and of course, we’re still lining up some vendors. Interested persons can email us at livintagestore@gmail.com for more information….

There’s not a lot of time left before we open, so while I’m sad to leave journalism after 12 years in the business, all this activity and excitement has really been a LOT of fun!  Hopefully the building will look more organized after this weekend and I can share with you all a bunch more pictures….

Until then…..

Image

